Poetry

Learned from birds

Not everyone learns to fly.
Most are too scared to even try.
But if I stay rooted
I’ll never find where I’m best suited.
This is why…

I asked the birds to push me from the nest.
I asked the birds to treat me like the rest.

The hummingbird has gifted me her heart;
Now I feel again so strongly where I did not in the start.
The Nightingale has gifted me the lungs to sing;
Now I have the strength to say what I couldn’t in the beginning.

The eagle with wings so strong,
Has taught me to fly when all goes wrong.
The hawk with eyes so vigil,
Has taught me to see the evil and good in people.

Not everyone learns to fly.
This is why I had to try.
I’m not like my kind
Who sit in the confines of their mind.
This is why…
I asked the birds to push me from the nest.
I asked the birds to teach me to be my best.

The elegant swan has shown me beauty.
It’s who I am, not who I could be.
The enlightened owl has taught me well.
There’s more to know than heaven and hell.

I swam in the air with the rainbow in my wings.
I sang in the chorus of a dew covered morning.
There is not much that we are born with.
We have to discover what we will be left with.

This is why,
I asked the birds to teach me how to fly.

Leave a Reply

