Poetry

On the Clock

I want it to hurt at every second of the clock
But my pulse beats on to every tick and tock
I want my pulse to skip; I want my heart to stop
But all my heart is now is a worn out stage prop
Why can’t I feel the adrenaline?!
When will I taste the lips of sin?!
I want it to hurt at every minute of the clock!
But my pulse beats on to every tick and tock!
I want to forget how to breathe
And hit in the gut till I wheeze
But I’m the girl who cannot feel
Watching the hands on times cruel wheel
I want it to hurt at every hour of the clock!
But my pulse beats on to every tick and tock!
I want my heart to break under a thousand suns
I want to hear it all be said and done
But I cannot listen when I’m always leaving
Once again I’m left here breathing

Leave a Reply

