Poetry

Silent Remembrance

We give attention to the times of joy in our lives,
We forget the times our words were knives.
Remember the times of smiles and cheer?
Forbid we speak of the times shaken by fear.

One more chance to have it again,
A single more second to steal your sin.
I’d replace it all in a heartbeat,
Stand in your way, pick up your feet.

Now nothing but silence wraps our good times,
Like a present given away for the final time.
Advantage is taken of the most precious gifts,
And here is mine with no more shifts.

I stand at last at a podium alone,
Preaching to a crowd in the twilight zone.
Color is absent to all that I see,
I say my final words then drop to my knees.

~Dedicated to Douglas James Peffer

Leave a Reply

