Poetry

My Own Master

I’m proving to the gods
That the choices are mine
They may know who I am
And what I believe
But the road that I take
Is one I won’t leave
Fighting the forces
And denying my fate
Following the winds courses
And fighting the hate
They may watch from above
And have my life planned
But I have already decided
I am my own master
and take root where I stand

The stars in the sky
Know everyone’s name
But they missed one bright eye
That just isn’t the same
They can tell you your future
In a vague list of things,
Draw you a picture
And Give power to kings.
But this bright eye
Has gone off alone
I’ve trailed away
From the old zodiac ways
Making stars of my own
For my life’s’ unwritten plays

Leave a Reply

