Poetry

Child in War

I once could peer at the people around me and feel so insecure
I was a coward in an army afraid to fight, not quite yet so mature
A million to one is how it seemed and no one could hear me scream
The blows of battle tore me down till I had but a single dream
I’d say to myself, while the bombs blasted on the longest of nights
These words were all I had to ease my pain through the blights

“I’m on my way to freedom,
I won’t be thrown away,
I have the strength to win a war
My death is not today.”

Children-try-on-their-gas-masksRGB-642x336

Leave a Reply

