Poetry · Relationships

Then and Now

0506131817

“Hello” We said when we first met
it clicked from then and we were set
“What’s your name? do you have the time?”
“Call me Mallory, I have till nine.”
hours we talked like old friends
we mixed so well into colorful blends.

“Forever” We said with love in our eyes
a beautiful hope like the stars in the sky
“I’ll love you forever, count on that”
“I’ll love you too and that’s a fact.”
Real in the time of fairy tales
till the sands ran out and the rose went stale

“Goodbye” we said with pain on our lips
let go of our time, the good and hardships
“I guess this is goodbye, I don’t know what to say”
“I didn’t think it would end this way…”
Farewell may seem, but isn’t a curse,
the word is a line, a song, a poem or verse.

Nothing, that’s what we say now
though, in my heart I have a final vow
“I may remember the joy that I felt
but I’m stronger than the cards I’ve been dealt.”
All is a memory; you and the sun.
All is still wonderful, even now that we’re done.

2 thoughts on “Then and Now

  1. I’m usually not a fan of rhyming verse (cat in the hat, anyone) but this works and flows so well. Such a happy beginning, such a sad end. Ah, fickle romance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

