Dark · Writing Prompts

Just an Urban Legend ~ Part 1 (10-21-15 Wednesdays Scene)

I’ve heard the stories of course and I’ve seen only the videos my friends have shown me.  It didn’t scare me.  I guess there’s even a video game based off of him.  I haven’t played it though.  My friends told me it’s rather scary and made them scream.  They’d scream at a mouse though.  I’m a fan of all things that go bump in the night.  Mostly because I’m looking for that special something to scare me witless.  I haven’t found it yet.

I think it’s because my friends know I’m always looking for a good scare that they told me about Slender Man.  I found out later that Slender Man was ‘born’ in a forum and any scare potential he had was gone from then on.  I give the creators props though.  It can’t be too easy to make a believable Urban Legend.  I admire them.  They’ve created someone that people all over are claiming to see and are legitimately afraid of or claim he’s taken them and they somehow managed to escape.  It’s fascinating that it’s growing on its own now.

I woke up this morning, brushed my teeth, pulled my hair back into a pony tail, put on a T-shirt and Jeans, ate cereal, the hole morning routine.  I’m twenty-two years old, living with a friend, Hillary, whom I went to high school with.  She still lives in her “glory” days, out partying every night, always with different guys and never taking life too seriously.  It doesn’t affect me except on the occasions she brings the guy home with her.  I do my best to ignore it.

I usually stay in my room and work on my homework or my writing most days.  I go to college at the local JC and work a part time job at a restaurant as a waitress.  It’s all I need right now until I transfer to State.

“Roo? Are you awake?” Hillary knocked lightly on my bedroom door.  Roo is my nickname from high school.  Everyone called me by my last name, Rudy.  Then it eventually became Roo. “Yeah, what’s up?”

She opened the door slowly and poked her head in first then shut the door behind her quietly.  Her hair wasn’t brushed and it looked like she hadn’t gotten any sleep that night.  “I keep seeing him.”  She finally said.

“Do you like him?”

“It’s not a guy.”  It was clear she didn’t want to say it.  “Slender Man…”

“You’re kidding right?”

She shook her head.  “I saw him last night.  He’s watching us.”

“Hillary, he’s not real.”

“That’s what I keep telling myself.”

There was a knock at the front door.  Hillary hesitantly went to get the door.
I went to sit at my desk to wait for her.  I pulled up google then looked down at the top of my desk.

“He’s watching” was scratched into the surface of my desk with a circle and X through it and various other scratches.

Continue to part 2 ——->

One thought on “Just an Urban Legend ~ Part 1 (10-21-15 Wednesdays Scene)

Leave a Reply

