Love · Writing Prompt

Day Two of 30-Day Challenge!

13173890_10154209894621757_4086293516101071352_n

Day Two: In 250 words or less, write without any -ing verbs.

 

This is part 2 from day 1’s prompt. Find part 1 here.

“What happened over there? How did…”

Jessie shifted awkwardly on the drift wood. “I might as well have died out there. Everyone else…My whole squad was taken captive. Little food, hardly any water. Those of us who survived long enough got our chance to escape and we took it. One other survived the escape with me. He was already too sick though. He didn’t have a chance.”

Samantha stared wide eyed at him.

“I nearly died out there too. I got lost in the forest. I must have eaten a berry I shouldn’t have because I got sick too.  Someone found me and brought me into their village. I had a fever for a week before I got better.” He saw the concern across Sam’s face. She no longer looked at him and instead looked at the sand by his feet. “Hey,” He crossed the distance to her and cupped her chin in his hands. “I’m alive because of you. I heard your voice every night in my dreams. You kept me strong every second I was out there.” Jessie wiped away a tear that rolled down her cheek. Her lips quivered as she tried to break away from eye contact. He pulled her face back, and looked into her blue eyes. She stared back in hope she’d find every lost minute in his eyes.

“Don’t you dare leave me again.” She said.

He didn’t plan to. Then, for the first time in two years, he kissed her.

One thought on “Day Two of 30-Day Challenge!

Leave a Reply

